Pumpkin…cake?

Nope, just pie in a cake pan.

See this beaut?

that stem was so long (how long was it?) it was so long the whole thing couldn't even fit in the picture. that wasn't a joke, it was a really long stem.

We got this bad-boy right around Halloween, and when Tyler asked:
“What are you going to make out of that?”
I replied: “…a decorative fall-like atmosphere inside our home?”

We got bigger pumpkins to carve, I just wanted some to use as straight-up decor. So we got this one and a white one (which is still outside… acting as frozen decor). I had no intentions of ‘making’ anything out of it, I’ve certainly never cooked a pumpkin before, but after a month of this pumpkin sitting around, a month of Tyler asking “What are you going to make out of that?” and with our American Thanksgiving in Canada coming up- I figured I needed to do something with it.

I did a little research and found this amazingly detailed site:
  http://www.pickyourown.org/pumpkinpie.php 

Not only does it have step-by-step instructions, but also pictures for just about every step (jackpot!). I’ve made pie before- but never from scratch, so this was a whole new experience. This website also has a link to a crust recipe, which I did not use. I have a cookbook with this simple 3-ingredient pie crust, so I chose that and actually made it the night before (which I’m so glad I did, the pie took a little bit longer than I anticipated). I also didn’t have everything that the pie recipe called for, so I kind of just threw some stuff together (recipe for disaster, I know). It actually came out pretty good (although it looked absolutely ridiculous and I didn’t have a pie pan so I made it in a deep cake pan), but everyone that had some had two pieces, so there’s that. Below I provided my altered recipe, just in case you don’t feel like visiting the other site, or need to substitute here and there, like I did.

Ta-da!

how you like them...pumpkins?

Super Simple Pie Crust

1 & 1/4 cups flour, sifted
6 tbsp butter, diced
2-3 tbsp water, cold

Rub butter into the flour until it resembles fine bread crumbs.
Gradually mix in the cold water until a soft dough is formed.
Shape the dough into a ball, wrap in plastic wrap and refrigerate.*

* I let it refrigerate over night, and it was fine, just take it out maybe 15-20 minutes before you want to roll it out to let it soften. Special thanks to Katie (my sister- aka phenomenal baker) for counseling me through this- when I felt the hard rock that was my dough the next morning I started to freak out, until she told me it was normal and to let it sit out to soften. She said not to let it sit out for too long though- you still want the dough to be cool when you roll it out (else-wise it will be quite sticky).

Pumpkin Pie
for one 9″ pie, or in my case… cake.

approx: 3 cups pumpkin puree*
1/2 cup sugar
1/2 cup brown sugar
4 eggs
1 & 1/2 cans of evaporated milk (18oz)
1 & 1/2 tsp cinnamon
1 & 1/2 tsp ground cloves
1/2 tsp vanilla
1/2 tsp salt

Mix all ingredients together, and pour it into the crusted pan (the pan with the crust in it- not a dirty crusty pan!)
Bake at 425 for the first 15 minutes before dropping it down to 350 for an additional 45-60 minutes. ( mine was closer to 65-70 minutes because of my deep pan)
The pie is done when you can insert a fork/knife and it comes out clean.

*I think I had 2 & 3/4 cups of puree, but a small-medium pumpkin should do it. The pumpkin needs to be washed, cut, and gutted before you cook it of course, and there are different ways to cook a pumpkin. I chose to steam it (which is the fastest method) only took about 20 minutes. Once it’s cooked, it peels quite easily off of the pumpkin skin- definitely wait for it to cool a bit though.

mmmm...pie.

 

 

Nothing like a homemade pumpkin pie to say:
“I made something out of the darn pumpkin- so you can shut-up about it already!”

 

4 thoughts on “Pumpkin…cake?

Now what do you think about that?

