Pain in the bunting…

Operation: Decor

Ever come up with an idea,  start a new project, and get a quarter to halfway into it before realizing that it’s a pain in the butt?

Maybe it’s just me. I have a short attention span when it comes to projects, I get bored easily with monotonous work and it’s easy for me to get frustrated and give up on something. I’m not proud to admit that I have several unfinished paintings, drawings and projects. That doesn’t go for everything though. If it’s important to me I won’t give up completely, I’ll just procrastinate until I absolutely have to get it done. Which brings us to this bunting.

holy tacky-bunting batman
ahhh... much better

Bunting is a decoration typically associated with car dealerships and carnivals. However, it has somewhat recently become  popular in weddings with more of a “rustic”, “country” or “vintage”-type atmosphere. In my opinion, by using the right materials this simple DIY decoration can add a certain charm and brighten up any occasion. You can search online and find companies (or individuals on etsy) who sell plastic or cloth bunting in any color, design or shape for anywhere from $8-$20 per few feet. Or you could easily make your own for a fraction of the cost, depending on the material you choose of course.

So needless to say, I have chosen this form of decoration for my own wedding. I chose and bought fabrics that I will use for the bunting, as well as for a “guestbook” quilt which my mom will sew together after the wedding (thanks mom!). I decided to make three different sizes, the smallest which I will put onto the invitations, another small (but not as small) size for random accents, and the largest size to hang around the tent. I’ve finished cutting the invitation sized flags (all 280 of them), and even started attaching them to their little strings. It’s not like it’s hard, or they take too long to make. I’m attaching them with hot glue, since I’m probably as good of a sewer as I am good at being on time for things (not good). Despite the simplicity of their construction, I got bored and decided to cut the next size up, this is about as far as I’ve gotten…

if you stare at the center of this picture for 30 seconds and then stare at a blank wall, you'll see a secret message

As you can see I got bored with this size as well and decided to arrange the flags in a hypnotic pattern on my table. This is roughly half of the flags in this size (300 total, as of now at least). I am determined to attach every last one of these suckers to their assigned strings by the time I go home for the holidays. I’m so determined in fact, that I’m sitting on my butt writing in my blog instead of working on them (see? that’s the procrastinator in me). To prove to you that I have accomplished something, I’m not a complete slacker and to give you a little taste without giving it all away, I leave you with this…

thank you, thank you very much

Thanks to everyone for checking out my blog in the past week or so, since I’ve gone ‘public’. My first day I got 100 views, which I realize isn’t a big deal in the blogging world, but I enjoyed it. My next goal is 116 views in one day ( it’s my lucky number) I wonder what will come first, me finishing this bunting, or hitting 116 views. Due to my severe habits of procrastination…

my money is on the views.

One thought on “Pain in the bunting…

Now what do you think about that?

