Personal New Year

So little time, so much to do…

You may or may not have noticed that I haven’t posted in a while. Once again I’ve been traveling and it’s hard to update without a computer! However, with my little vacation coming to an end, a new chapter in my life begins.

I had a wonderfully laid back and relaxing birthday yesterday, and in honor of my ‘Personal New Year’ I have decided to do what I didn’t do for everyone’s New Year and make a list of things I’d like to accomplish or improve on within the next year of my life.

Why do you care? Well, you probably don’t, so maybe for your Personal New Year you should make a list too, and number one should be “Care more about others, so people don’t think I’m a jerk.”… jerk. Hmm, maybe I need “Don’t be mean to people in a desperate attempt to get a laugh.”  on my list…

My Personal New Year Goals

oh haiii me

 

1. Learn how to use my camera!
It’s so easy to flip on the “smart capture” setting on the camera to quickly snap a photo, but I bought this camera for it’s manual settings. I need to get crackin’ and learn this stuff! Definitely one of my top goals this year.

 

2. Bake one new thing each month.
This is an easy one, and a great way for me to add new recipes here once a month. My sweet tooth gets excited over this goal; but my stomach, thighs, arms and un-bought wedding dress are extremely concerned. Therefore…


3. Exercise Daily
.
Let’s not get too serious here, I’m not into running or hardcore-gym activity. I would like to be in a little better shape though, and doing something is better than doing nothing, right? So I’ve come up with a little daily routine which consists of 15 crunches, pushups and leg circles. Here’s the catch though, if I miss a day (like I did yesterday because it was my birthday and I don’t have to work out my thighs if I don’t want to) I need to add 5 to each activity and still do the 15 from that day. So today I did 35 (15 from yesterday + 5 for skipping +15 from today) crunches, pushups and leg circles, and let me tell you- I do not plan on skipping another day anytime soon.

 

keep your comments in your pocket

4. Practice working with charcoal.
I’ve been wanting to work with charcoal as a medium for some time now, and since Tyler bought me some charcoal and a new drawing pad (thanks Ty!) I was able to actually start working on this goal yesterday! Nothing special, but not too shabby for my first go at it.


5. Create/Complete art.
I have about ten blank canvases, and at least 7 unfinished drawings/paintings. I’ve been so busy with holidays and wedding planning that they’ve gone untouched for quite some time. There’s no reason why I shouldn’t be able to take one day off from wedding things to paint every now and then.

 

oh haiii guys, were my eyes closed in that one?

6. Stay in touch.
I desperately need improvement in this area and in all of the subcategories of this area. Whether it’s by phone, email, Facebook, birthday/thank you/greeting cards, whatever. I’ve been slacking lately, I got so much love yesterday for my birthday and I have so many amazing people in my life that I feel the need to give it back.

 

7. Relax
I found a batch of grey hair on my head. I’m blaming it on stress, which means it’s time to quit stressing the small stuff. I think wedding planning will help me learn that little details and things don’t matter. When you step back and look at the whole picture, the most important things are what stand out the most. It’s so easy to say it, but harder to actually chill out when things start going off course. Hopefully I’ll learn to mellow out in this next year of my life.

 

oh haiii salmon

8. Cook one new thing a week.
Time to broaden my culinary horizons. I’m usually pretty good at trying new things, but its easy to fall back into the staples of pasta and fajita nights. I don’t plan on going crazy, but be it salad, vegetable or meat- we will eat one new dish every week.

 

9. Don’t be mean to people in a desperate attempt to get a laugh.
I’m not proud…

 

10. Hike, at least five times.
Only good things can come of this. There are so many places in this area I can go, and I am getting pumped for spring to come.

 

11. Get a bike.
Why drive to the beach when you can bike? Why live on the same road as a Provincial Park with dozens of bike trails if you aren’t going to take advantage of it?

 

Lisa and Pete - 2 / 4 / 2012

12. Get married.
This is pretty much a given right? If I screw this one up, I’m going to have to seriously re-evaluate my priorities and make a new list. I think it’s pretty much in the bag though, so let’s just say my goal is to stay calm and relaxed,  not freak out when something goes wrong, and have fun!

 

Congratulations to Lisa and Pete, who married February 4th, 2012!!

 

 

you must be kidding, aren't you

 

 

 

Stay tuned… delicious cookie recipe coming soon!

 

2 thoughts on “Personal New Year

  1. You should add squats to your workout! They are one of the best exercises you can do. Just make sure you do them correctly so that you don’t put stress on your knees!

    1. You know, when I was originally thinking of this daily routine I was thinking of doing squats. Then I found the leg circles and thought those would be easier, haha. I’m so sore though from doing this, maybe when I build up my muscles a bit more I’ll add the squats… I’m such a wuss!

Now what do you think about that?

