A Balanced Diet… is a Cookie in Each Hand

Am I right, or am I right?

You know something I’ve always wondered? Why are cookies called cookies? Why not bakies? Or eaties? Or delishies? You bake and eat them… and let’s be honest- they are delish!

Straight up;  You’re either a cookie person or you’re not.

Not so straight up; If you are a cookie person, you are one of three types:

The Reserved Cookie EaterAverage Monthly Cookie Intake: 1-10 cookies
You can call yourself a cookie person because you don’t hate cookies, but you don’t necessarily love them either. You rarely, if ever, bake or buy them but if you were in the same room as them, you’d eat them. As long as they don’t have nuts…or raisins…or coconut…

The Cookie LoverAverage Monthly Cookie Intake: 11-29 cookies
You. Love. Cookies. You’re not obsessed- you can go some time without having a cookie. You probably bake (or buy) a batch at least once a month, and there’s no way you’re letting them sit around long enough to get stale. You have a list of your top-five favorite cookies and if there are some that you don’t like you’ve at least tried them because they’re cookies for heaven’s sake!

The Cookie MonsterAverage Monthly Cookie Intake: 30+ cookies
The ultimate eater of cookies. You’re taking a hike and you see a rock that somewhat resembles the form of a cookie and your mouth starts to water. Don’t worry- you can just reach into your backpack and eat one of the five cookies you brought because you, my friend, are obsessed with cookies.

nom..nom..nom...

You don’t care if they’re baked, fried, flattened, rolled or frosted. You don’t care if they have chocolate, nuts, fruit, oatmeal, ginger, peanut butter or butterscotch. Heck, you don’t even care if they’re hard or soft. A cookie is a cookie, and if there is a cookie around you- it’s not going to be there long. You think anyone who doesn’t like cookies is completely insane and honestly believe that a day without a cookie is a day not worth living. Be aware of changes to your body, the more serious this cookie addiction gets the more likely it is that you will lose your nose, grow blue hair over your entire body, and your eyes will become googly. Also (just saying) you should probably get checked for diabetes.


So…
are you a cookie person? If so, what sub-category do you fall under? I myself, am The Cookie Lover, I love cookies, most kinds too. I could do without shortbread and gingerbread, I like something with a little extra  ‘oomph’. Much like this little gem I’m going to pass onto you fellow Cookie Lovers. This isn’t your average run-of-the-mill cookie, alright? This bad boy is jam-packed with so much deliciousness that my mouth is watering just typing about it (hmm, maybe I’m a monster after all…).  This recipe I found online a few years back and spruced it up a bit to my liking, I also made up my name for them just now. It’s a great recipe that can be easily adapted by putting in or taking out any ingredients you may or may not like. I like to make these around Christmas, I guess I think they look festive. I didn’t get a chance this year though so I made them for my birthday instead. Happy Birthday to me!

 

 

Delishies   (…you see what I did there?)
yields 16-20 cookies (depending on how big you make them)

dry ingredients

⅓ cup sugar
⅓ cup brown sugar (packed)
¾ cup flour
½ tsp baking powder
⅛ tsp baking soda
⅛ tsp salt
½ cup butter
1 tsp vanilla
1 egg
1 cup quick oats
¾ cup dried cranberries
¾ cup white chocolate chips
¾ cup chopped walnuts
¾ cup coconut (shredded)

Mix dry ingredients together (omit oats, cranberries, nuts, chips and coconut).

the goods

Melt butter and beat in the egg, mix in vanilla.
Mix dry and wet ingredients together.
Add oats, cranberries, nuts, chips and coconut.
Cover and refrigerate for 30 minutes.

Preheat oven to 375°
Spoon onto cookie sheet, bake 8-10 minutes or until browned.

 

mmmm.... cookies

Like I said, I tweaked the recipe a bit. I made it ¾ a cup of the berries, nuts, chips and coconut because I was adding so many things. If you wanted to take out the chips and the coconut, for example, then it would be best to change the measurements of the berries and the nuts to 1 cup each… ¿Comprende?

Enjoy, and Happy Tuesday Y’all.

One thought on “A Balanced Diet… is a Cookie in Each Hand

Now what do you think about that?

