A-well-a bird, bird, bird, b-bird’s the word

Papa-ooma-mow-mow, papa-ooma-mow-mow,
Papa-ooma-mow-mow, papa-ooma-mow-mow.

You’re welcome for getting that song in your head.

I am so excited for this post! Today has been a very successful day and can’t wait to share it with you. I’ve become a bit of a bird-nerd since living in the wilderness. Really, I like to think of it less as a nerd-thing and more as a Disney Princess type thing- you know, I sing and dance with the birds, I’ve got a couple of mice that make my clothes, it’s a lifestyle choice that I’m quite proud of.

Anyway, I’ve had feeders for a few months which has been interesting and provided for some decent photographs. I’ve been dying to get a birdbath though, they are said to attract birds that may not be attracted to bird feeders. Due to the fact birdbaths can be super expensive and I enjoy a good challenge, I decided to make my own. I thought originally to make one out of old planters (much like the one on the left, you can click the photo to bring you to the blog (another wordpresser!) with instructions on how to make it), which I know are almost always up for grabs at the local thrift store, the problem with the low-lying bath is that there is a certain predator that lurks around here on a daily basis…

I certainly wasn’t planning on setting the poor little birds up for their own demise, so a hanging birdbath was the only way to keep the birds- and my wallet safe. I searched online for “DIY hanging birdbath”, this was by-far the best one I found and it looked pretty simple to boot!
Immediately I was in awe of the pure genius who dreamt this up, (like the last one, you can click on the photo and it’ll bring you right to the site (another blog) of the creator). So simple, so effective and not unpleasing to the eye either. The fact that it’s a two-fer (feeder and bath) is a nice touch too. I decided right away that this was my goal.
First stop was the thrift store, of course. As I said before planters are a pretty easy find there, so I went in hopeful, but boy oh boy I was not expecting to luck out like I did. They didn’t have any hanging baskets (which was fine, I know I saw them at WalMart so I had that for my last resort) and they didn’t have any planters… crap. I had just about given up when I came across a metal fruit bowl for $2, and then a beautiful ceramic dish for $1.50. It was fate when they fit together perfectly. And then I found this little guy for 25 cents- pure joy.
Seriously… could it get any better? Yes- it can. The thrift store didn’t have all of my materials however- I still needed a chain to hang it with. I hit up the local dollar store (always stop here before going to Walmart- you’d be surprised about what you can find at a dollar store- a thrift store too for that matter!) and found exactly what I was looking for, for- you guessed it- $1!
My materials (picture sans mini bird) chain and hooks, fruit bowl and ceramic dish for a frugal total of : $4.75.  Holla!I got to building as soon as I got home and honestly, it took a longer time for my hot glue gun (yes, I used my glue gun… surprise surprise) to heat up than it took me to make this birdbath. I glued the tips of the fruit bowl, set in the dish, glued the little bird in place, hooked the hooks and….voila!
It’s even gotten some action already!
Okay, okay so maybe I baited it with a small glass bowl of sunflower seeds- so sue me! I still count it as in use-mark it!
“A bird does not sing because it has an answer. It sings because it has a song.”   Chinese Proverb
Posted in DIY

4 thoughts on “A-well-a bird, bird, bird, b-bird’s the word

Now what do you think about that?

