Crunch Time

Eeeek!

I have certainly been slacking on the blog front. My apologies to you faithful readers out there… all six of you. Things have been busy as we’ve officially hit the “One Month Countdown” mark and I’m scrambling to get the things done that I’ve been putting off for months. Some projects are still new so I am quite excited but others have gotten old. I mean, how many fabric flowers do you think you could make before you wanted to rip your hair out? After about 100, I’m good. No need to make any more flowers during my lifetime. Unfortunately I still need to make 150 more, ugh. My feelings towards these projects make me wonder if this is what marriage will be like, the constant thoughts of “You’ve already committed to this and started it. You’re so close to being done, just put up with it and ride it out until the end.”

Just kidding, I know marriage won’t be like that until the third or fourth year.

Another joke, I really am excited to get married! I have also failed to mention I’ve been off potato chips for about a million years now. Oh, it’s only been a month and a half? Feels like a million years. Anyway, enough of these sarcastic remarks over tedious projects and onto some I’m more excited about!

So I got these hanging boxes with heart cut-outs at a local market for very cheap.

My apologies for forgetting to take a picture of the originals, they were all unfinished wood, I painted them white before realizing I may want to document this. Anyway, I thought they would be perfect to fill with candles and run down the aisle.  I plan to do flowers, but I’d like some variety. I made a couple of on the spot decisions and here’s what I came up with…

To have and to hold, to love and to support, to honor and to cherish. Subtle and simple, a nice way to run the aisle and meaningful words to walk past (although Tyler informed me I spelled “honour” wrong… silly Canadians!). A couple coats of white paint on the outside, and brown inside, some ribbon and twine to spruce up the hanging wire and some words painted with a shaky hand. They’ll make good walkway lights when it gets darker too, I love being able to reuse things!

Next up, I found these little guys at (you guessed it) the local thrift store for $1.50.

They are absolutely perfect for the picture timeline I was going to set up… well almost absolutely perfect. Red and orange don’t really fit into my color scheme, but no matter. A coat of white paint does the trick just fine.

No need to be perfect because I have a very specific plan for these little clips. I heated up my faithful hot glue gun while the paint dried and made some hearts and letters onto them.

When the hot glue dried and I pulled away all the little glue strings and painted a layer of brown paint over it. This next part was kind of an accident, my paintbrush was too wet when I painted the first clip so I ended up blotting it with a paper towel. It gave it an “antique-y” look which I kind of liked. I decided to go with it, blotted all of the clips and decided that even if I didn’t like the way it looked in the end I can always paint over it.  This method using the glue gun over paint is something I’ve been experimenting with a bit, I tried to make a painting using this method, but it does not work well on paper. A canvas would be perfect, wood and plastic also work very well.

When the brown paint dried I peeled off the dried glue to reveal the white paint underneath. Turns out I like the way they look!

I don’t mind that the letters are a bid faded and not a bold white. I don’t mind how shaky the letters are either, imperfections give things character… at least that’s what I’m telling myself so I don’t freak out about every little detail being perfect.

That’s about all for now on the decor front, my list of things hasn’t necessarily been decreasing in size but I’m not too worried yet. The next few weeks are going to be busy ones though, that’s for sure. I’m going to have to apologize in advance if I start slacking on the blog again. I plan to share a new recipe or two soon and I promise the next post won’t be wedding-related!

Happy Weekend!!

Now what do you think about that?

