First comes Love, then comes Marriage . . .

Then comes an abundance of repetitive questions!

Where are you going for your honeymoon? When are you going to have kids?

Most annoying question I’ve been asked since getting married:
                          “What on Earth are you going to do with your time now??”

I’m sorry, this is just offensive. Because obviously every second of my life for this past year has revolved around getting married… what ever will I do with myself? Have you read my blog? Have you noticed that since starting it I’ve had a total of 28 posts (this being my 28th) and a mere 7 were about something wedding related? Did you notice that I cook, bake, enjoy gardening, photography and DIY projects? Obviously not or you wouldn’t be asking such a ridiculous question.

Bitterness aside, let me get onto my big news: I’ve registered for an adult pottery class taking place next week! To clear up any confusion, it is a class specifically for adults, not an erotic pottery class. There will be no reenacting of any “Ghost” scenes (come on guys, I’m married now). I am so excited to get my hands dirty again and although it only lasts a week I know I am bound to enjoy every second of it.

For those of you who may have thought that my big news involved me being pregnant (probably based solely on my insinuating title, a cheap ploy to get some extra readers, yet also a great way to see who actually will read this far…) I apologize. I am far too busy working on my bedsores (as I’m sure most of you may think) to be bothered chasing a child around. In all honestly though, we are not ready for kids. And by “we” I mainly mean “I” because I’m the one who’s got to cook the little stinker inside of me for nine months and I’m just not ready for that type of commitment yet, so just back off.

To get back to the most annoying question I’ve been asked lately, what have I been doing with my time now? Well, I’m happy to announce that I recently read a book (I expect my trophy to be delivered shortly). We have tried a number of new recipes and even made some homemade bread in our new bread machine! I have been tending to my lovely little container garden as well, which is now the home to several happy little cucumbers, many growing tomatoes and proudly no little critters to gobble them up.

I have some sad news to report. My DIY birdbath has met it’s own very unfortunate demise just this week. It’s my own darn fault, I know. I’ve gotten into the habit of bringing my bird feeder in each night to avoid it’s destruction by night prowlers, I left my bath out thinking it would be okay. It had been knocked down a few times, but this time was quite obviously it’s last.

the horror

It really is quite sad. It was a nice, cheap little ceramic plate that was just the right size. Birdbath, you were used by many, pooed in by some, but loved by all who came to drink or bathe in your cool, refreshing water…

The Birdbath, April 3, 2012- July 15, 2012

Needless to say I was in dire need to come up with a new one. The metal strainer thing was fine, as were the hanging chains. It was obvious I needed something unbreakable to use as the actual bath, and I was in a bit of a hurry. Being it summer and all it’s been pretty hot out and the thought of those poor little birds not having a place to drink, or that poor little chipmunk loosing his little swimming pool just broke my heart. I made my way to the trusty ol’ dollar store and came back with the best thing I could find.

A cheap plastic bowl ($1), some river rocks and waterproof glue ought to do the trick. No, it’s not as pretty as the last one but like I said I was pretty desperate.

It’s quite zen if you ask me. I chose the dark river rocks because I read somewhere a dark bottom birdbath is more attractive to birds than a lighter one. I glued them in to make the bottom a bit more secure for the birdies but also so I could pour out the dirty water easily without having to worry about all of the rocks spilling out. And although I don’t have photographic evidence (cool your jets, it’ll come) I’m happy to say two chickadees have already enjoyed the new bath.

Is that all I’ve done lately? Oh-ho-hoooono. I’m actually in the midst of several projects right now (stay tuned for detailed entries)  including some coasters and a re-vamped plant stand made out of a tiny table I found at the thrift store for a mere dollar. But what on Earth could the plant stand be for? Well, uh… plants. Also the terrariums I recently constructed. I’ve wanted a terrarium for quite some time but wanted to hold off until I found the right container. They’re quite easy to make, and even easier to tend to.

The materials include the glass container, rocks, potting soil and a few types of succulents (Sempervivum ‘Carmen’ and  Crassula rupestris x perforata ‘Baby Necklaceto be exact). The rocks are required for proper drainage, succulents don’t need to be watered often, but when they are the soil should drain enough so that the roots do not sit in water. I may have put too much soil in, some terrariums I’ve seen keep the plants inside of the container, in others the plants stick out a bit. Mine are sticking out more than I had hoped, but I don’t really mind it.

easy as 1, 2, 3
top views

So that’s that. A nice little bit of live decor to look at, although I’ve certainly seen nicer, it’s a nice little project to do by yourself or with the kiddos. Just make sure you have enough room in your container for your plant. I wanted to use a regular old fishbowl but it proved to be too small. I’ll just have to find something else to do with it.

I’m looking forward to a fun and busy summer (including many drinks enjoyed on the patio), so stay tuned for some Yummy Treats, Fantastic Foods and DIY Projects in the very near future!

sneak preview of the (unfinished) DIY plant stand

See? I do have things to occupy my time after all!

One thought on “First comes Love, then comes Marriage . . .

Now what do you think about that?

