Weekly Photo Challenge: Wrong

“Most times, it’s just a lot easier not to let the world know what’s wrong.” – Chuck Palahniuk

This week’s challenge however, would like us to do just that. “Wrong” is pretty vague. There is so much wrong with this world (also vague), which is why I believe Mr. Palahniuk wrote what he did. The statement “Ignorance is bliss” pretty much goes hand-in-hand with that one. Stupid little things that cause me to worry about our future aside, it is honestly scary to learn about some of the big things that are wrong with the world right now.

It is for that reason I decided to go with a more light-hearted picture.

So… no, I didn’t Photoshop the head of a baby bird onto the body of a full-grown bluejay.  I have several bluejays that flock into my trees on a daily basis, there is one that always perches himself in the same spot, around the same time everyday and squawks his (her?) brains out until I throw some peanuts out to shut him up. The other day I looked up and noticed something about the bird looked wrong, or odd. It wasn’t until I zoomed in, snapped a few pictures and looked at them on my computer that I realized this bird is completely bald.

Needless to say, it’s pretty ugly. After throwing up in my mouth I did a little research and discovered that this is actually quite common. They are known as “bald birds” and can become bald for a few reasons. Perhaps it was a rambunctious night of shagging that caused the bird to molt (lose it’s feathers), it could be disease or mites, something in the environment or in their nutrition (hopefully not the peanuts I’m giving them… the rest of the bluejays are fine, okay?). The good news is, this ugly little sucker will grow his feathers back, and soon. I saw him again today and noticed that he’s got some more feathers on the top of his head already, so he should be back to doing it birdy-style with the ladies in no time.

If caring more about bald birds than Paul Ryan is wrong, I don’t want to be right!

 

Some updated pictures of Baldy…

getting some more feathers on that bald head

 

baldy, just drying off his wing

 

 

8 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Wrong

  1. Thanks everyone!

    And don’t worry Elaine, he’s still squawking his brains out and seems to be completely normal… despite the horrid hair-do (and yes haha, possible mocking from other birds). He’s growing more feathers everyday!

Now what do you think about that?

