Heaven Help the Po’Taters

One pa-tayda, two pa-tayda, three pa-tayda, four.

Those of you that know me (or those of you who have read my about me’ section) know that I have a serious addiction to potato chips. I took a brief break from chips when I was hoping to lose weight for the wedding. Right after the wedding, however, I fell off the wagon… hard. Seriously, I have bruises in between my newly-enhanced love handles. We decided to “try to eat a bit healthier”. It’s hard in the summer when you just want to hang out with friends, graze on food and drink all day. We’ve had a busy past few weeks, a lot of get togethers and visitors. I think it was after the fourth weekend in a row of making taco dip that we realized there may be some healthier alternatives that we should be choosing.

It’s been years since I’ve had a chip. Okay, it feels like it’s been years since I’ve had a chip. In reality it’s been like three days.  I feel as though there is a void in my life, a salty, potato-like void that needs to be filled. A salty, potato-like void that can only be filled by eating cheesier, greasier, baconier things. Things like this:

Yeah, that’s what I’m talking about. These bad boys aren’t too challenging either. Boil a pot of water while you wash and slice the potatoes. For two people, I used four taters. but two of the four were tiny- teeny tiny.

I got the wavy design from a wonderful little knife I received as a gift (thanks C&A!). Throw the potatoes in the boiling water and boil for 5-7 minutes or so, until they soften a bit.

Yes, I have glass pots. I was excited about them when we first got them, and I am still excited every time I use them. “Is the water boiling yet?” Oh, I don’t know, let me just not get up from where I’m sitting and look through the pot to see! Ahh, my laziness at it’s peak, but you have to admit, this pot is pretty sweet. When the taters are have boiled for a few minutes take them out, strain and let them dry for a minute or two. Put in a bowl and add a tablespoon (or more, or less- to your liking) of butter (or margarine or olive oil- again to your liking), a tablespoon of Italian Seasoning, teaspoon of garlic salt and then salt and pepper to taste. If you’re into it- throw a few red pepper flakes in there and toss that delicious goodness up!

Now spread those bad boys out on a greased cookie sheet. Bake them for about 12-15 minutes before switching over to the broiler. Broil for 5 minutes, take them out and do the best to flip them all over. Add the cheese and bacon bits at this point and stick it under the broiler for another 5 minutes. I used cheddar and mozzarella cheese, because that’s what we had around, you can use what you want. I only had two slices of bacon (left-over bacon from a previous morning… is ‘left-over bacon’ an oxymoron?) that I chopped up and sprinkled. If you don’t have any left over bacon in your fridge (or: you’re normal) you’ll need to make the bacon beforehand. Surprisingly, two pieces was enough for what I made.

Serve these loaded taters as an appetizer or a side dish, they are sure to please some tummies out there.

Five pa-tayda, six pa-tayda, seven pa-tayda… okay seriously I’m stuffed.

Now what do you think about that?

