Cheddar Corn Chowder

katieskitchen

Mmmmm, corn chowder.  A bowlful of hearty, crisp deliciousness. I’ve always loved corn chowder, my mom made it a lot for us kids, and as an adult I’ve searched for the perfect recipe for years. I recently came across a great recipe from one of my favorite magazines, Cook’s Country. I love their problem-solving approach to creating the perfect recipe, explaining all their decisions along the way. I only had one problem with their finished product, no cheese! I absolutely love extra sharp cheddar, and I can’t imagine corn chowder without it. So I slightly changed their recipe to add red bell peppers, cheddar cheese, and topped my soup with chopped bacon and green onions instead of mixing it in. Enjoy!

6 ears corn
2 (15-ounce) cans whole kernel corn, drained
5 cups low-sodium chicken broth
3 slices bacon
1 onion, chopped
1 red bell pepper, chopped
salt and pepper
1 pound red potatoes, scrubbed and cut into ½ inch dice
1 cup heavy cream
3 cups shredded cheddar cheese
4 scallions, sliced thin

Cut the kernels from the ears of corn, like this…

and set both cobs and kernels aside separately. Puree canned corn and 2 cups chicken broth in a blender or food processor until smooth. Cook the bacon in a Dutch oven (large cooking pot with a lid) until crispy, set aside, and chop once cooled.

Now it’s time to add the chopped veggies…

Cook onion, pepper, corn kernels, salt and pepper in bacon fat until veggies are softened and golden brown, 6-8 minutes.

Add potatoes…

(I had white potatoes, so that’s what I used, the red skinned potatoes make it look nicer though), corn puree, remaining broth, and reserved corn cobs to Dutch oven and bring to a boil. Reduce heat to medium-low and simmer until potatoes are tender, about 15 minutes.

Discard cobs and stir in the cream and shredded cheese until cheese is melted and soup is heated through.

Serve and top with chopped bacon and scallions.

Yummmmmmmy!!! Coming up next, Creamsicle Cupcakes!

k80

One thought on “Cheddar Corn Chowder

Now what do you think about that?

