Summer Salutations

Summertime, and the livin’ is easily breezily.

There are so many awesome things about summer; the sunshine, the trees and flowers all in bloom, the way it’s socially acceptable to consume alcoholic beverages before noon. There are some things that aren’t so awesome about summer; the bugs, the humidity, the way you feel the day after your decide it’s a good idea to drink before noon.

One thing that’s awesome anytime of the year is getting mail!

‘Snail Mail’, as it’s known, is dying out man. Let’s bring it back! It’s such a nice little surprise when you receive something in the mail, don’t you want to give that incredible feeling to those that you care about the most? Remember, sharing is caring!

Although I don’t think I’ve ever really blogged about it, I have been somewhat into card making (meaning I make them when I need them)  for the past two years or so. I handmade all of our ‘Save the Dates’, invitations, reply cards and ‘Thank You’ Cards (and all of the envelopes) for the wedding.

 

I made ‘Thank You’ cards for my girlfriends after my bacherlorette party.

I even managed to get a few Valentine’s Day cards out this year.

Although making your own cards takes a considerable amount of time, it’s something that I think is worth it. I enjoy experimenting with new techniques and making the cards individual and unique to their recipients.

I’m particularly proud of this batch of summer birthday cards that I made, which is why I’m excited to share.

Supplies for this project are pretty basic. You’ll need paper for the card, more paper to line the inside of the card, ribbon, glue, buttons and a needle and thread.

You’ll want green ribbon and another color of your choice. Make sure the green is a smaller width than the other color. The green will be the leaves and the other color ribbon is your flower petals. For glue, you’ll want both hot glue and a glue stick. To each her own, but I’ve been using this kind of Elmer’s glue stick since I’ve started and it hasn’t failed me yet. I like the stick too because it’s not as messy, I think it dries faster than liquid glue, but I’ve never really tested that theory so don’t hold me to it.

You’ll need to start with the stem of the flower first, this is stitched into the card. Now don’t freak out- this isn’t intense needlework by any means. This is a basic ‘running stitch’ and the only reason I know that’s what it’s called is because I just looked it up. That should tell you how much I know about what I’m doing here.

A few notes:

  •  I had normal thread so I had to quadruple up on it so it would be nice and thick, this prevents me from going back and forth through the same holes four times. If you have embroidery thread, that would be better to use.
  • Make sure both ends of the thread are on the inside of the card, and don’t worry if when you tie it off it looks sloppy inside- you’ll cover it up in the next step.
  • Needle size isn’t really important, just make sure you’re big enough for the thread to follow through, but not so big that there are gaping holes in your card.
  • Unless you want a squiggly stem, do your best to stitch in a straight line. I was lucky enough to haven chosen card stock that provides me with lines to follow. You can always draw a line using a ruler, or eyeball it if you’re that good. (I’m not, the lines saved me).

Take your ‘lining’ paper and glue it into the inside of your card. Most of the time I just use computer paper to line the inside and cardstock as the outside of the card (that’s because I’m cheap). I typically make the liner smaller than the cardstock, so the cardstock almost borders the inside of the card.

If you plan on writing on the left side of the card, I’d suggest you do it now. Once the flower gets glued on the outside it won’t be flat, making it difficult to write.

Onto the flower! I chose to go for a five petaled flower with a button in the center. You’ll want a ribbon that is at least an inch wide. Cut your petals to be between 1-1½ inches long and between ½-1 inch wide. It doesn’t have to be exact, work around the size of your button too, if you have a bigger button make bigger petals. Smaller button, smaller petals- you get the idea.

Pinch and glue one tip of the petal to make them look like this. Don’t worry if the pinched part looks sloppy, the button will cover it up.

Speaking of buttons, you’ll want to choose yours wisely. If you plan on mailing the card, you may want to choose a smaller, thinner button. If your envelope exceeds a certain thickness you’ll have to throw an extra stamp on there, so just be aware of that.

Flip your button upside-down and hot glue the petals on.

Once you’re done with the flower, it’s time to make the little bow that will represent the leaves. Here’s a quick bow tutorial in case you were wondering how to make one.

You’ll need two strips of the ribbon. Fold and glue one strip length-wise, this will be the piece that wraps around the center. Take the other strip and curl it around to make an oval, glue to secure.

Pinch and glue the center of the oval piece as shown.

Take the same area that you just glued and pinch and glue again.

Now take the folded strip of ribbon and wrap it around the center. Glue and trim to complete the bow.

Hot glue the flower and bow onto the front of your card, and there you have it, summer salutations!

Start sending out some love!

lizzeh

Posted in DIY

3 thoughts on “Summer Salutations

  1. So you’re saying it’s socially unacceptable to drink before noon in Winter? I thought that was what mulled wine was for? And when your eyebrows are freezing 2 minutes after you stepped outside, you need some anti-freeze, something better than a double-double from Tim Horton’s :D.

Now what do you think about that?

