They See Me Rollin’

They eatin’, budgin’ lines tryin’ get a second helpin’.
(Weird Al, if you’re reading-  yes, I am available to work for you.)

These rolls are so good, (how good are they?), they’re so good that you won’t want a second helping, you’ll want a fifth! (Weird Al, please disregard that last one and instead, focus on the opener.)

This is not my recipe, I searched for ‘bread machine dinner rolls’ a little over a year ago, stumbled across Betty Crocker‘s recipe and haven’t looked back. Here’s the original, I haven’t changed anything, I find no need to.  They take a considerable amount of time to make (about 2½ hours), but they don’t take nearly as much work. It’s just a lot of waiting, waiting for the bread machine to finish doing the only real work required, and then waiting for them to rise, twice.

Let’s get rollin’!

Betty Crocker’s Dinner Rolls
yields: 15 rolls (says Betty. I make 16, so take that!)

1 cup water
2 tbsp. butter (softened) or margarine
1 egg (I beat it first, don’t know if that’s necessary)
3 ¼ cups flour
¼ cup sugar
1 tsp. salt
3 tsp. yeast (I use bread machine yeast)

Load the ingredients into your bread machine as recommended by your bread machine instructions, I listed the ingredients in the order that I load them into mine. Typically you need to put the liquids in first, then dry ingredients, keeping the salt and sugar away from the yeast (if you’ve done it before you know the drill, if this is your first time using a bread machine to make dough, just make sure you read up and know how to load it).

And this is where I would put a picture of the ingredients,


IF I HAD ONE. (I forgot.)

Wait impatiently while your machine does all of the hard work. When it’s finished remove the dough and place it on a lightly floured surface.

Sometimes the dough is stickier than other times, in that case I used a little more flour and knead it in a bit. Cover the dough and let it rise for about 10 minutes. I cover it with a slightly damp (obviously clean) towel, some people use plastic wrap for easier clean-up. In the meantime, lightly grease a cookie sheet (Betty says to use shortening, I use a spray can).

If you want your rolls to all be exactly the same size, you might want to head over to Betty’s site. We have different methods at this point. I take my large ball of dough and half it, half each of those, half all of those I just halved, and half them again. That’s easy enough to understand, right? In layman’s terms, it’s pretty much the mitosis of dough. That explains it, no? How about a crummy gif made out of blurry, reject pictures I took?

Don’t watch it for too long, I don’t want anyone to have an epileptic episode brought on by roll mitosis. Maybe this wasn’t the best time to document by roll mitosis considering those two large rolls on the right that felt as though they didn’t want to divide. That’s because this particular batch (the dozen on the left) was given to a friend and the two on the right were used as hamburger buns that very evening. Another great thing about these rolls is their versatility. We’ve had them on the side with stew, had pulled pork and sloppy joe sliders (or make them bigger and have normal sized sandwiches), hamburger buns, I’ve used them with breakfast sandwiches (SO GOOD) and they were such a huge hit at Thanksgiving I had to make two batches the following day so people could have them with their leftovers.

I suppose you need to make them before you can enjoy them though, eh? So let’s get back to the recipe. Divide the dough as you wish and place them on the prepared sheet. Leave some space in between the rolls, because you’re going to cover them and allow them to rise again for another 30-40 minutes. They should double in size. You can rearrange them just before you put them in the oven if you’d like, make pull-apart rolls by placing them closer together, or individual rolls by leaving some space in between them.

Preheat the oven to 375° and pop those bad boys in for 12-15 minutes. Check around 10 though, depending on their size you may need more or less time. You’ll know when they’re done, they turn a delicious golden brown.

They may look like they’re going to be hard or tough, but they are the softest most scrumptious things. As a final option, you can brush some softened butter or margarine on the top when they come out of the oven (these have gone without. I actually haven’t done it in a while, just because it’s a bit messier, but oh man, is it good!).

I wish I could tell you how long they keep in the pantry for, but to be honest they’ve always disappeared after a few days. I do know, however, that they freeze and defrost well, just don’t overdo it with the defrosting or heating up, they will get really hard and stale if you do.  I don’t think I blasted them for longer then 45 seconds from frozen, but every microwave is different, you might have to sacrifice one during a trial period. Of course, they are best fresh.

Roll out!
lizzeh

One thought on “They See Me Rollin’

  1. I make very similar dinner rolls with my bread machine. Aren’t they just melt in your mouth delicious? I won’t even buy them anymore because homemade dinner rolls taste so good.

    Love your post!

Now what do you think about that?

