Orna-mentality

‘Tis the season… to go crazy.

I am very excited for this post for two very specific reasons:

1. I got a new camera!
Now I don’t have to be embarrassed to post pictures of my projects, because I can actually take some decent pictures.

2. I have been going crazy making ornaments for the past three days.
Now I get to  decorate my tree and show them off!

last crummy picture taken from crummy camera
Anyone remember these gems? They’re those silly old plastic ornaments covered in horribly tacky shiny thread of some sort. When I was a kid we put these on our dogwood tree out back, and I seem to remember the squirrels always had a great time playing with them and tearing them apart, leaving only what looked like doll heads of shiny hair on our lawn.
Anyway, I found a bag of 42 of these babies at the thrift store for  a mere $1.50.

As if I would give up a deal like that.

I knew that I could make them my own, and I knew I already had ALL of the materials that I would need to do so (super bonus). The materials (fabric, twine, yarn, lace, thick ribbon, and glue gun/sticks) were all previously purchased at the thrift store or the dollar store for different projects (wedding things, advent calendar). I got them all super cheap, I’d say about $5 total. Seriously, when I found out the local thrift store sold craft materials, I thought I had died and gone to heaven. So those of you interested in the math: that’s 42 ornaments for $6.50, or approximately $0.15 each… not too shabby.

Here’s what I came up with:

   I know, I know, they’re a little stringy, and definitely not perfect. Looking at this picture now I’m noticing all their flaws of course. At the same time, I must say that I’m quite proud of myself. As annoying as it was to wrap twine and yarn around those plastic balls, as many times as I burnt my fingertips with the hot glue (I don’t think I have fingerprints anymore), I must say it was all worth it, and I can’t wait to decorate my tree tonight!

Have a nice day!

P.S. I am so excited about this camera… look at those pictures!! Ahhh!

Posted in DIY

2 thoughts on “Orna-mentality

  1. Liz, these are fabulous, the first year Walt and I were married, our tree was $5 and I found everything to hang on it for cheap, cheap, cheap, painted a bunch of wooden ones that were about $3 a box. I am do impressed!!!

Now what do you think about that?